Demokratische Innovationen in der Jugendarbeit

DIYW Team Photo Meeting in Barcelona in October 2021

Demokratische Innovationen in der Jugendarbeit

Förderung des Engagements und der Beteiligung von Jugendlichen am demokratischen Leben


Während verschiedene Innovationen zur Demokratisierung zeitgenössischer Demokratien auf verschiedenen Ebenen der Entscheidungsfindung erdacht, entworfen, erprobt und sogar institutionalisiert wurden (z. B. Bürgerversammlungen, Bürgerhaushalte, deliberative Umfragen etc.), spielen diese demokratischen Innovationen (DIs) in der Jugendarbeit und der non-formalen Bildung bis heute keine Rolle. Das Projekt DIYW (Democratic Innovations in Youth Work) zielt darauf ab, das Problem der Demokratieverdrossenheit anzugehen, indem es didaktische Materialien entwickelt, erprobt und verbreitet, die Jugendarbeiter:innen und Trainer:innen in der demokratischen Bildung sowie Lehrer:innen an Schulen dabei unterstützen, jungen Menschen das Thema “Demokratische Innovationen” mit Hilfe von Methoden der nicht-formalen Bildung näher zu bringen.

Kontext

Die aktuellen demokratischen Institutionen und ihre Ausgestaltung werden durch verschiedene Phänomene herausgefordert, z. B. rechtsradikale Populisten an der Macht, steigendes Misstrauen der Bürger, Fake News, sinkende Wahlbeteiligung, aber auch durch die Digitalisierung oder soziale Ad-hoc-Bewegungen. Junge Menschen sind besonders betroffen, da viele von ihnen in einer voll digitalisierten Welt aufwachsen, sich jenseits von Institutionen politisch engagieren oder das Ziel von Manipulation und Desinformation sind.

"Die Entwicklung neuer außerparlamentarischer Mechanismen und hoher Standards für demokratische Partizipationsprozesse scheint der beste Weg zu sein, um glaubwürdig auf die Forderung der Bürger, insbesondere der Jugend, zu reagieren, regelmäßiger an öffentlichen Entscheidungen beteiligt zu werden", erklärt Katarzyna Klimowicz, europäische Projektmanagerin bei Citizens For Europe. Wir brauchen vor allem inklusivere und deliberative Formen der Entscheidungsfindung, um die Blasenbildung in sozialen Netzwerken und die populistische Instrumentalisierung sozialer Gräben zu vermeiden."

Das Projekt

Das Projekt DIYW (Democratic Innovations in Youth Work) beschäftigt sich mit der Frage, wie Demokratien in Zukunft funktionieren könnten und welche Fähigkeiten junge Menschen brauchen, um diese Zukunft mitzugestalten. Es zielt darauf ab, sie dabei zu unterstützen, aktive, kritische und direkt involvierte Bürger:innen zu werden, indem es ihre demokratischen Fähigkeiten entwickelt und das kritische Denken der Jugendlichen gegenüber ihrer Beteiligung an Entscheidungsprozessen, digitaler und direkter Demokratie sowie den Risiken populistischer Instrumentalisierung fördert. Das Projekt zielt darauf ab, ihr Bewusstsein für demokratische Innovationen zu schärfen, die nicht nur für ihr eigenes außerparlamentarisches Engagement im demokratischen Leben, sondern generell für eine partizipativere und inklusivere Gesellschaft sorgen.

Videos und Trainings für Demokratie

Unsere strategische Partnerschaft wird von 4 zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisationen und Sozialunternehmen initiiert - Citizens For Europe (DE), DeGeDe (Deutsche Gesellschaft für demokratische Bildung - DE), ACPJ (Catalan Association of Youth Policies Professionals - SP) und CCE (Center for Citizenship Education - PL).

DIYW bringt Jugendarbeiter:innen, Lehrer:innen, zivilgesellschaftliche Akteur:innen, junge Menschen sowie Expert:innen für demokratische Innovationen und Filmemacher:innen zusammen. Gemeinsam werden sie produzieren:

  • "Videos for Democracy", eine Serie von 9 pädagogischen Kurzdokumentationen, die demokratische Innovationen (z. B. Bürgerversammlungen, E-Petitionen, Bürgerhaushalte, deliberative Abstimmungen, Bürgerjurys, etc.) und inspirierende Geschichten von Menschen, die an deren Gestaltung und Umsetzung teilgenommen haben, zeigen;
  • Ein didaktischer Leitfaden für Jugendarbeiter:innen und Lehrer:innen, der erklärt, wie man das Thema DIs in der Jugendarbeit mit Hilfe der didaktischen Videos und nicht-formalen Bildungsmethoden einführt;
  • Ein "Train the Democracy trainer" - methodischer Trainingskurs, um Jugendarbeiter:innen und Schullehrer:innen mit den notwendigen Skills und dem Wissen auszustatten, um die Videos und den didaktischen Leitfaden zu nutzen.

Alle gemeinsam entwickelten Ergebnisse werden auf gründlicher Sekundär- und Feldforschung basieren und anschließend in einer realen Arbeitsumgebung von jungen Menschen, Jugendarbeiter:innen und Lehrer:innen getestet. Sie werden in fünf verschiedenen Sprachen (Englisch, Deutsch, Polnisch, Spanisch und Katalanisch) zur Verfügung stehen und über eine interaktive Multimedia-Online-Plattform frei zugänglich sein sowie auf einer Abschlusskonferenz präsentiert werden, die in jedem Partnerland (Deutschland, Polen, Spanien) stattfinden wird.


Gefördert von

Partnerorganizationen

assoziierte Partnerorganizationen



ANDERE PROJEKTE

April 28, 2021
DIYW Team Photo Meeting in Barcelona in October 2021

Demokratische Innovationen in der Jugendarbeit

Demokratische Innovationen in der Jugendarbeit

Förderung des Engagements und der Beteiligung von Jugendlichen am demokratischen Leben

Während verschiedene Innovationen zur Demokratisierung zeitgenössischer Demokratien auf verschiedenen Ebenen der Entscheidungsfindung erdacht, entworfen, erprobt und sogar institutionalisiert wurden, spielen diese demokratischen Innovationen in der Jugendarbeit und der non-formalen Bildung bis heute keine Rolle. Das Projekt DIYW (Democratic Innovations in Youth Work) zielt darauf ab, das Problem der Demokratieverdrossenheit anzugehen, indem es didaktische Materialien entwickelt, die Jugendarbeiter:innen und Lehrer:innen an Schulen dabei unterstützen, jungen Menschen das Thema “Demokratische Innovationen” näher zu bringen.
September 8, 2018
CHIEF Feature Image

Internationales Projekt CHIEF

CHIEF - Auf dem Weg zu einer inklusiveren kulturellen Bildung

Gestaltung Multi-Stakeholder-Partnerschaften, um Veränderungen anzustoßen

Das europäische CHIEF-Projekt baut einen Dialog zwischen jungen Menschen, Forscher*innen, Bildungsfachleuten, politischen Entscheidungsträger*innen, Community Leaders und Aktivist*innen der Zivilgesellschaft auf, um eine Zukunft Europas zu ermöglichen, die auf inklusiveren Vorstellungen von kulturellem Erbe und kultureller Identität beruht. Citizens For Europe begleitete methodisch Multi-Stakeholder-Prozesse und eine Reihe von Workshops, um ein nachhaltiges Umfeld für den Dialog zwischen diesen Akteuren zu schaffen und wirksame politische Empfehlungen auf lokaler und europäischer Ebene zu entwickeln.
September 1, 2018

WAHLRECHT FÜR ALLE

Wahlrecht für Alle

Wir fordern das Wahlrecht jenseits der Staatsbürgerschaft!

In Berlin sind mehr als 700.000 Einwohner*innen bei der Wahl vom Abgeordnetenhaus und bei Volksentscheiden ausgeschlossen, nur weil das Berliner Wahlrecht an die Staatsangehörigkeit geknüpft ist. Das Berliner Bündnis „Wahlrecht für Alle“ macht seit 2011 auf diese Ungerechtigkeit aufmerksam und setzt sich für die politische Teilhabe aller Berliner*innen jenseits der Staatsbürgerschaft ein. Deshalb fordern wir das regionale und nationale Wahlrecht für EU-Bürger*innen und Drittstaatsangehörige* sowie das lokale und kommunale Wahlrecht für Drittstaatsangehörige.
August 31, 2018

Theaterprojekt NiCeR

NiCeR - Empowering local and newcomer youth

Using theater to strengthen youth participation in local life

Von Dezember 2015 bis November 2017 nutzte das zweijährige NiCeR-Projekt das Theater und die Kraft des Geschichtenerzählens. In Berlin kamen 30 junge Menschen aus Berlin, dem Kosovo, Syrien und Afghanistan zusammen, kreierten und spielten das Musical What the Volk?! basierend auf Identität, Zugehörigkeit, Migration und der Kraft der Sprache. Dasselbe Projekt wurde auch in 6 europäischen Partnerstädten repliziert: Rom, Brüssel, Sevilla, Timisoara, Liverpool, Nikosia. In Berlin arbeitete Citizens For Europe gUG mit dem Theater X zusammen, einem selbstorganisierten Community-Theater.
August 30, 2018

You and Me – Ein Jugendfilmprojekt

You and Me - Stärkung der Landjugend

Ein Jugendfilmprojekt für eine neue europäische Erzählung

Das Jugendfilmprojekt You and Me brachte 9 Jugendliche zusammen, die in den ländlichen Gebieten Spaniens, Griechenlands und Deutschlands aufgewachsen sind. Sie schnappten sich eine Kamera und erzählten ihre eigenen Geschichten jenseits der Medienwirbel und Stereotypen, die in den letzten Jahren die Mainstream-Erzählung in der Europäischen Union dominiert haben. Nach der Teilnahme an einem Filmtraining reisten siedurch die ländlichen Gebiete von Brandenburg (Deutschland), Lesbos (Griechenland) und Aragón (Spanien), wo sie andere Jugendliche über ihr Leben in den ländlichen Gebieten, ihre Träume und alltäglichen Herausforderungen interviewten.

Democratic Innovations in Youth Work

Screenshot Online Kick Off 1 DIYW

Democratic Innovations in Youth Work

Reviving youth engagement and participation in democratic life


Whereas various innovations to democratize contemporary democracies have been imagined, designed, tested and even institutionalised on different levels of decision-making (e.g. citizens assemblies, participatory budgeting, deliberative polls etc.), these Democratic Innovations (DIs) still do not play a role in youth work and non-formal education today. The DIYW (Democratic Innovations in Youth Work) project aims at tackling the issue of democratic disenchantment and erosion by developing, testing and disseminating didactic materials that support youth workers, facilitators and trainers in democratic education as well as school teachers to introduce to young people the subject of Democratic Innovations with the use of non-formal education methods.

We are currently looking for youth moderators in Berlin. Here you can find the application form (in German).

The context

Current democratic institutions and their design are challenged by various phenomena, e.g. radical right-wing populists in power, rising distrust of citizens, fake news, decline in involvement in electoral politics, but also digitalisation or ad hoc social movements. Young people are especially concerned as many of them grow up in a fully digitalised world, get politically engaged beyond institutions or are the target of manipulation and disinformation.

“Developing new extra-electoral mechanisms and high standards for democratic participatory processes seem to be the best way to respond credibly to the demand of citizens, especially youth, to be more regularly involved in public decision-making”, asserts Katarzyna Klimowicz, European Project Manager at Citizens For Europe. More inclusive and deliberative ways of decision-making are particularly needed to avoid the bubbles of social networks and populist instrumentalization of social divides.”

The project

The project DIYW (Democratic Innovations in Youth Work) is about how democracies could function in the future and which capacities do young people need to participate in shaping this future. It aims at supporting them in becoming more active, critical and directly involved citizens by developing their democratic skills and encouraging critical thinking of youth towards their involvement in decision-making processes, digital and direct democracy as well as the risks of populist instrumentalization. The project strives to increase their awareness of already existing opportunities that Democratic Innovations bring not only for their own extra-electoral engagement in the democratic life but in general for a more participative and inclusive society.

 

Videos and Trainings for Democracy

Our Strategic Partnership is initiated by 4 civil society organizations and social businesses – Catalan Association of Youth Policies Professionals (SP), Center for Citizenship Education (PL), Citizens For Europe (DE) and DeGeDE (German Society for Democratic Education - DE). DIYW brings together youth workers, teachers, civil society actors, young people as well as experts in democratic innovations and in video-making.

Together, they will co-produce:
- Videos for Democracy: a series of 9 educational short-documentaries showcasing DIs (e.g citizens assemblies, e-petitions, participatory budgeting, deliberative polls, citizens juries, etc.) and inspiring stories of people who participated in their design and implementation;
- A Didactic Guide for Youth workers and teachers explaining how to introduce the topic of DIs in youth work with the use of the didactic videos and non-formal education methods;
- A Train the Democracy trainer: methodological training course to provide youth workers and school teachers with the necessary skills and knowledge to use the videos and didactic guide.

All the collaboratively developed outputs will be based on thorough desk and field research and consequently tested in a real work environment by young people, youth workers and teachers. They will be available in 5 different languages (English, German, Polish, Spanish and Catalan) and freely accessed through a multimedia interactive online platform as well as presented in a final conference that will take place in each partner country (Germany, Poland, Spain).


Funded by

Partner organizations

Associated Partners



OTHER PROJECTS 

February 9, 2021
Screenshot Online Kick Off 1 DIYW

Democratic Innovations in Youth Work

Democratic Innovations in Youth Work

Reviving youth engagement and participation in democratic life

Whereas various innovations to democratize contemporary democracies have been imagined, designed, tested and even institutionalised on different levels of decision-making (e.g. citizens assemblies, participatory budgeting, deliberative polls etc.), Democratic Innovations (DIs) still do not play a role in youth work and non-formal education today. The DIYW (Democratic Innovations in Youth Work) project aims at tackling the issue of democratic disenchantment and erosion by developing, testing and disseminating didactic materials that support youth workers, facilitators and trainers in democratic education as well as school teachers to introduce to young people the subject of Democratic Innovations with the use of non-formal education methods.
September 10, 2018
Group photo Activists and Partners European Democracy Network

EUROPEAN DEMOCRACY NETWORK

European Democracy Network

For the defense of freedom, democracy and fundamental rights!

Democracy and its underlying fundamental rights are in decline in Europe. More and more right-wing populist parties and leaders are taking over governments and dismantling the democratic constitutional state – even in the so-called consolidated democracies. In this context, we believe it is necessary to support activists and initiatives who are under threat. As transnational partnership we initiated the European Democracy Network (EDN) to support, empower and connect activists who stand against the erosion of democracy and fundamental rights, and advocate for legal, political, social or climate justice. We believe that we can only encounter the shrinking of civic space in transnational solidarity and across issues.
September 9, 2018

VIRAL ACTION FUND

ViRaL Action-fund

Strengthening Diversity, Combating Racism, Engaging Locally

With a re-granting scheme, we support people on the ground throughout Germany who oppose racism and are committed to the recognition of diversity. ViRaL seeks to reach out with anti-racist counter-narratives to people who have have not yet dealt with the topic, as well as to provide resources and support to those who are targeted by racism and exclusion. We provide the selected projects with mini-grants, tailored trainings and the tools they need, and we share our network and infrastructure with them.
September 8, 2018
CHIEF Feature Image

CHIEF

CHIEF, Towards an inclusive cultural education

Designing a multi-stakeholder collaboration to trigger change

The European CHIEF project builds a dialogue between young people, researchers, education practitioners, policymakers, community leaders and civil society activists in order to facilitate a future of Europe based on more inclusive notions of cultural heritage and cultural identity. Citizens For Europe will methodically design a multi-stakeholders' process and accompany a series of workshops to create a sustainable environment for dialogue between these actors and develop effective policy recommendations at the local and European level.
September 1, 2018

WAHLRECHT FÜR ALLE – Voting right for All

Wahlrecht für Alle - Voting right for all

We demand the right to vote for all people living here!

In Berlin more than 700,000 residents are excluded from voting in elections for local, regional and national representatives and referendums, simply because the Berlin electoral law is tied to German citizenship. Since 2011, the Berlin alliance “Wahlrecht für Alle” (“Voting Right for All”) has drawn attention to this injustice and has been committed to enabling the political participation of all people living in Berlin, regardless of their nationality. We therefore call for national voting right for EU citizens and third-country nationals, as well as for local and municipal voting right for third-country nationals.
August 31, 2018

NiCeR

NiCeR - Empowering local and newcomer youth

Using theater to strengthen youth participation in local life

Started in December 2015, the two-year NiCeR project used theater and the power of storytelling to develop a counter-narrative that strengthened youth participation in local cultural and social life while promoting skills development, empowerment and living together in cultural diversity. In Berlin, 30 young people from Berlin, Kosovo, Syria and Afghanistan came together, created and performed the musical What the Volk?! based on identity, belonging, migration and the power of language.
August 30, 2018

You and Me

You and Me - Empowering rural youth

A Youth film project for a new European narrative

Our youth film project brought together 9 young who grew up in the rural areas in Spain, Greece and Germany. They grabbed a camera and told their own stories beyond the media spin and stereotypes that have dominated the mainstream narrative in the European Union over the last few years. After taking part in a film training, they travelled in September and October 2016 as transnational groups through the rural areas of Brandenburg (Germany), Lesbos (Greece) and Aragón (Spain), where they interviewed other youngsters about their lives in the rural areas, their dreams and everyday challenges.